First step to Italy

I have decided it’s time to take a bite of a big project and start to chew. The project: Becoming a dual-citizen of Italy. I thought I’d just grab up my documents and send them off – well, not really. Having finished my husband’s dual-citizenship paperwork almost two years ago, I knew it would not be an easy process.

Seems, however, that my request to become a citizen of Italy by marriage will be just a tad bit more involved. My husband is Italian by descent and, therefore already part of the fold. Ciao! Benvenuto, figlio mio! Siete uno di noi! Hello! Welcome, my son! You are one of us!

My request for citizenship requires many more pages, apostilles and translations. I must show proof from every state I’ve lived in (and the FBI) that I am not a criminal.  I must register my divorce papers (from a better-forgotten one-year union when I was 21) as well as my current marriage certificate, in the commune of my husband’s family – Caserta, Campagnia, Italy. They need confirmation of all this (and several other little tiny things) before I can begin the application process.

There are so many steps and they all have to be taken in a specific order – I understand it can take up to two years to complete them. I hope to be living in Italy by then, which will likely confuse the process further. And, yes, I know there are services you can pay to do this. I’m not saying I won’t revert to that at some point. But, just not yet.

I thought I’d give it a try myself, first, and also thought it might be “fun” to document the process. Once in Italy, I can have a good laugh at what it took to achieve La Dolce Vita! The Sweet Life! And, yes, I know there are services you can pay to do this. I’m not saying I won’t revert to that at some point. But, just not yet.

If you’re on this road or have been down it, I’d love to hear from you.

PS. I am learning Italian still, so use translation assistance often. Forgive my mistakes, or better yet, correct me!

One thought on “First step to Italy

  1. Pingback: “Becoming Italian” joins “In other words” | In other words

Leave a comment